Advice from a pro


I don’t really have much to say, but wanted to post a link to James A. Moore’s fantastic blog entry for today. This should be required reading for every author. It’s a bit long, but if you’re considering a career as a writer, you’ll do yourself a favor by reading it.

James is not only one of the nicest guys you could ever hope to meet, but he’s also a hell of a writer. Horror World will post an interview I’m doing with him in May.

I guess I do have two bits of writing news to report. The producer at Blackridge Entertainment got in touch with me the other day to let me know the “Reunion” movie project is not completely dead yet. He promised more info later and told me the site is down, which I already knew.

You may have noticed the new edition of Darkscapes is late. Well, I heard from the publisher yesterday and he says the cover is almost finished. He asked if I had any blurbs for the book, including an “ad blurb,” which I guess is a summary. Writing a one-page synopsis is hard enough. Summerizing an unthemed collection of 34 short stories … ugh. I promised I’d send him something today, though.

One last bit of news: Nick Cook is reviewing my novella Seven Days in Benevolence for a magazine, the name of which escapes my memory at the moment. He pointed out a sentence early in the book that is sure to offend most of the few readers who bother with Double Dragon Press’s e-book. It’s an editing  mistake on my part, thrown in when I wasn’t sure, exactly, what the husband had done to cause the divorce. Telling you what it is would be a bit of a spoiler, so I won’t. But if you read it, you’ll know it when you see it. That’s something I’ll fix for the Scrybe Press edition. Nick sent Scrybe an e-mail asking for a publication date on that, but so far hasn’t had a response. I really want to see this one in print form. I think it’s a good story, and the cover DDP slapped on it is hideous, especially compared to the one Kirk turned in to Scrybe.

One thought on “Advice from a pro

Leave a Reply

