Human capital


I came across this “human capital” phrase in some corporate newsletter I was reading. It wasn’t the first time I saw it, but that doesn’t prevent it from pissing me off. Human capital. This is the corporate dehumanization of the workforce. It’s pathetic and sad. It was bad enough being a human resource, but at least then an employee could think of himself as a river that kept flowing despite having corporate sewage dumped into it. But now … now an employee is nothing better than a limp dollar bill flopping in the g-string of the gyrating corporate whore.

Oh, I know “human capital” is just another asinine corporate buzzword made up by some idiot who felt the need to impress his boss. Many Conoco people were awash in that bullshit when I worked there; I had to translate things like “key thought leader” so that it had some meaning. Back on topic: The fact “human capital” has been embraced by businesses who also claim to be seeking to “attract and retain” the best workers says a lot about how they really see their employees, I think.

6 thoughts on “Human capital

  1. “…now an employee is nothing better than a limp dollar bill flopping in the g-string of the gyrating corporate whore.”
    You are such a fucking STUD! You can write *anything* and are my hero.

Leave a Reply

