Something old, something new


It’s now a proven fact that a kid from the ’80s can only go so long without hearing “Lipstick and Leather.” My drought ended yesterday witht he purchase of Y&T’s Best of ’81 to ’85. It also has “Summertime Girls.” Ah, what a video that was. Most of the other songs are forgettable, but “Lipstick and Leather” defines ’80s metal.

While perusing the racks at Best Buy I found multiple copies of the debut CD by a band called Wolfmother. They’re also at MySpace, where you can hear several samples. Naturally the name caught my attention. Couple that with an absolutely Wagnerian piece of cover art, and it had to be mine. (Okay, I tried to find a way to hear it before buying it, but couldn’t and had to rely on the recommendation of a 20-something sales guy.) I think I like it. It’s different, but familiar. It reminds me of old Black Sabbath, Deep Purple and Led Zeppelin, but with some Iced Earth mixed in. “The White Unicorn” just screams Led Zep. Click the link and you’ll hear what I mean.

Kim and I have this sort of unspoken competition when it comes to find new bands, or at least bands we haven’t listened to before. She usually strikes out as far as I’m concerned. She’s developed a leaning toward punk like AFI, a band that has some good titles they can’t back up. Her most recent purchase was The Misfits Meet the Nutley Brass, or some such thing. Big band playing songs of The Misfits. No, really. She’ll probably jump on here and comment, but all I really need to do is remind her which of us first bought Wasp, then had to pry it away from the other. Eh, baby?

As you may have noticed, I have nothing of value to say tonight. Go listen to Wolfmother and tell me what you think.

5 thoughts on “Something old, something new

  1. I’ve heard Wolfmother mentioned a few times now, I’ll have to check them out. If you haven’t already tried them, you might like Clutch. they have an older sound as well, and I like everything I’ve heard so far.

  2. Then I would just remind you who was listening to Zombie first and who bought Lest We Forget. I’m leaning toward punk and your leaning toward both kinds…country and western.:)
    Kim

    • Pfft. My only criteria is that the song is good. Which leaves AFI out all the way around. 😉 Don’t even claim to have been first to listen to Manson. I was listening to “Cake and Sodomy” and “Lunchbox” back in ’95 or ’96.
      Your Blues Brothers reference is duly noted, dear. And I still say the movie blows between the part after Aretha sings and when they back to prison and play “Jailhouse Rock.”
      Hurry home. There’s a Murderdolls song I wanna play for you.

  3. We had/have? Y&T “Ten” on VINYL dude… you should see what we have on record downstairs. Of course, the cool stuff is G’s. I was listening to either lame-ass, or weird-ass shit in the 80’s with a sprinkle of Metallica and GNR.
    This Wolfmother is pretty good. Not sure if I’d buy it, but it’s okay!

Leave a Reply

