Review: Harpist in the Wind


Harpist in the Wind
Harpist in the Wind by Patricia A. McKillip
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A satisfying conclusion to The Riddle-Master of Hed trilogy. I’d forgotten so much of the events and details of this story over the decades since I last read it. Re-reading the series yet again was a nice trip down memory lane, even if it did mean I downgraded my rating from 5 to 4 stars.

This is a very good series and would be good material for Hollywood, if Hollywood would get off the remake horse they’ve beaten to death.

It’s funny that what I remembered most was Har’s court and Morgan going to the cold northern wastelands. Now it makes me think of C.S. Lewis writing about his and Tolkien’s love of the “northness” in literature. It comes around again with House Stark in A Song of Ice and Fire. There is something elemental and magical about the empty, frozen norther regions.

If you like fantasy that is more than hack and slash, this is a fantastic series that, sadly, seems to be mostly forgotten.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

